Get Statistical Rethinking now with O’Reilly online learning. O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers. Links to individual lectures, slides and videos are in the calendar at the very bottom. I am an evolutionary ecologist who studies humans. I’m studying statistics and probability at college and I’ve used the Poisson distribution countless times in various different classes. The end result is being able to use Stan, only utilising the rethinking package to implement models. Get Statistical Rethinking now with O’Reilly online learning. Statistical Rethinking: A Bayesian Course with Examples in R and Stan is a great read for any student or professional looking to begin work in Bayesian Inference. Start your free trial. Start your free trial. Get Statistical Rethinking now with O’Reilly online learning. For most of Western history, chance has been a villain. You will actually get to practice Bayesian statistics while learning about it and the book is incredibly easy to follow. Start your free trial. Home Rethinking Financial Stability - speech by Andy Haldane Rethinking Financial Stability - speech by Andy Haldane. I am trying to calculate the odds of getting a specific piece of loot in a game (desired event) that is conditional on having all the desired stats (another desired event conditional on previous desired event), with some assumptions, like equal weighting for certain pieces. 2 Small Worlds and Large Worlds. It is particularly useful in Bayesian model selection problems where the posterior distributions of the models have been obtained by Markov chain Monte Carlo (MCMC) simulation. At the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, Richard teaches Bayesian statistics, and he was kind enough to put his whole course on Statistical Rethinking: Bayesian statistics using R & Stan open access online. Statistical Rethinking; Talks; Teaching; What I Do. Start your free trial. Francesca Domi